Jury and Awards


Leo Goldsmith
He is a writer, teacher, and curator based in New York. His criticism can be found in 4Columns, Film Comment, e-flux, and The Brooklyn Rail, whose film section he co-edited from 2011 to 2017. He is an Assistant Professor at Eugene Lang College, and serves as an advisor to the New York Film Festival.

Salomé Jashi
Studied documentary filmmaking at Royal Holloway. She co-founded the Sakdoc Film and Documentary Association Georgia. Her feature film Taming the Garden (2021) premiered at Sundance Film Festival and was screened at Porto/Post/Doc. She was a fellow of Nipkow Scholarship and DAAD Artists-in-Berlin Program.

José Luis Cienfuegos
Director of the Valladolid International Film Week, he was director of the Seville Film Festival (2012-2023) and the Gijón Film Festival (1995-2011). He is a member of the European Film Academy and is on the selection committee for the LUX Awards and was a jury member for the Prince of Asturias Award for the Arts (2013-2017).


Matthieu Orléan
He has been in charge of temporary exhibitions at Cinémathèque française. He curated exhibitions on Almodóvar, Jacques Demy, Gus Van Sant, among others. He writes about cinema for Les Cahiers du cinéma and Trafic. He co-directed Des Indes à la Planète Mars (2007) and published the book La Maison cinéma (2011), on Paul Vecchiali.

Maria do Carmo Piçarra
Maria do Carmo Piçarra is a researcher at ICNOVA, a professor at UAL and a film critic and programmer. Among other books, she has published Olhar de Maldoror, Projectar a ordem and Azuis ultramarinos. She is the editor of the trilogy Angola, o nascimento de uma nação and of (Re)Imagining African Independence.

Luis E. Parés
He is an historian and author of Notes sur l'emigration-Espagne 1960. He has translated into Spanish the Portuguese authors Mário Cesariny and Álvaro do Carvalhal. He has programmed for ZINEBI, Cine-Europes, Punto de Vista and (S8) festivals and currently collaborates with Filmoteca Española. He directed the short films El absurdo and Mi ideología.


Guille de Juan
He is a DJ linked to the Barcelona scene since the early 90s. He has performed at Sonar Festival in the 1994, 1999 and 2009 editions. He has worked for more than three decades in the Barcelona underground electronic scene and currently runs the first audio-cafe in Barcelona, Curtis.

Pedro Fradique
He began working as a journalist in 1988. He wrote for various publications and generated formats and content for radio and television. He was a consultant for Expo 98 and then communications manager for Fnac during its first year and a half in Portugal. He joined the Lux Frágil team in 1999 as communications manager, programmer and coordinator.

Rui Miguel Abreu
Music critic for the Portuguese newspaper Expresso, he also writes for Blitz magazine and the international magazine We Jazz and runs the online platform rimasebatidas.pt. He hosts several radio shows on Antena 3 and has worked on documentaries for Portuguese broadcaster RTP.


Daniela Rôla
She has a law degree. She attended courses on film history at the Alliance Française – Porto and at the Faculty of Psychology and Educational Sciences of the University of Porto. She has been a film critic for À pala de Walsh since 2020 and has collaborated with various online publications.

João Nicolau
He works as a director, editor and musician. He directed the feature films Technoboss, John From and A Espada e a Rosa, and several short films. He is preparing the films A Providência e a Guitarra and John In Christ. He is a member of various musical groups, like München, Silence Is a Boy and The Secret Museum of Mankind.

Marta Fernandes
Head of Distribution and Marketing at Midas Filmes since 2008, she started working in the film industry at Atalanta Filmes and IndieLisboa IFF. She has also worked as a journalist. She has a degree in Communication Sciences from Universidade Nova de Lisboa and a master's degree in Cinema.


The Teenage Jury is composed of students from various high schools in Porto and Greater Porto. The Teenage Award is given to the best film in a programme composed of seven films transversal to the festival’s various sections, whose themes are socially mobilising for young audiences. The Jury Teenage of this edition is composed by students from Soares dos Reis Artistic School (Porto) and Boa Nova High School. They will have a tutoring on film criticism with Ricardo Vieira Lisboa, in order to foster the students’ critical spirits.


Dorota Lech
She is a film programmer and independent curator. Since 2013 she has worked for the Toronto IFF where she also produces the Hot Docs Forum. She has contributed to Vanity Fair, MUBI Notebook, and Film Quarterly. She is a guest lecturer in Harvard and University of Toronto, and has curated screenings for the Museo Reina Sofia, Filmoteca Española, the Academy Museum and DokuFest.

Nuno de Campos
Undergraduate degree from Department of Fine Arts of Porto and Master of Fine Arts at Tufts University. As an artist he exhibited in institutions such as The Drawing Center, Smithsonian National Portrait Gallery, The Museum of Goa, Museu da Electricidade. His work was published in Artforum, Art in America and The New Yorker. Lectured at The Parsons School of Design (2001-2021). Founder of Rampa, an independent exhibition space located in Porto.

Rachael Rakes
She is the Artistic Director of the 12th Seoul Mediacity Biennale. She was the Curator for Public Practice at BAK basis voor actuele kunst (2019-2022). Until 2019, she was the Head Curator at De Appel. She is an Editor at Large for Verso Books, a Contributing Editor for INFRASONICA, and a Committee Member of the New York Film Festival.


Julie Marnay
After a ten years’ experience at Semaine de la Critique, as responsible for short films, she is now involved in the management and organisation of film development and market access programs. She has been named head of European Short Pitch and is the program manager at First Cut Lab.

Jaime Pena
Film critic and programmer at the Filmoteca de Galicia. He is a member of the magazine Caimán and writes for El Amante and magazines. He is the author of El cine después de Auschwitz (2020) and El espíritu de la colmena (2004), and has coordinated Edward Yang (2008) and Historias extraordinarias. Nuevo cine argentino 1999-2008 (2009).

Cecilia Barrionuevo
Head of Seminars and International Relations at ECAM, and programmer at Film at Lincoln Center. She was the director of Mar del Plata Film Festival from 2018 to 2021. She has a Bachelor’s in Communication and a Master's in Documentary Filmmaking. She is a member of the Advisory Board at Harvard University, and Associated Fellow 2022-23. She was a Visiting Scholar at Harvard University (2022-23).


Grand Jury Prize Vicente Pinto Abreu
For best film in the International Competition
Value: €3000

SPAutores – Cinema Falado Award
For best film in Cinema Falado Competition
Value: €1500

Transmission Award
For best film in the Transmission Competition, unless otherwise excluded
Value: €1000

Cinema Novo award - CANAL180
For best film of Cinema Novo Competition
Value: €500

Teenage Award
For best film in a selection chosen from various programme sections. Awarded by a group of students from various secondary schools across Porto.

Working Class Heroes Award – Filmaporto
For best Working Class Heroes project. Value €20.000.

Arché Award by Companhia das Culturas/Fundação Pereira Monteiro
Awarded to the best project presented in the Arché Porto Lab
Artist Residency at Companhia das Culturas